A reference of New Jersey Eviction Laws, and steps of the New Jersey eviction process for landlords and renters, updated 2021.

  • What notice do New Jersey eviction laws require that landlords provide tenants before starting the eviction process?
    • For all evictions in New Jersey, the notice must state the grounds for eviction. The required notice for evictions in New Jersey are:
      • For evictions based on non-payment of rent, the landlord must provide an immediate notice. If the landlord has accepted late rent in the past, the landlord must provide a 30-days’ notice for habitual failure to pay rent. N.J. Stat. Ann. § 2A:18-61.2(b)).
      • For evictions based on disorderly conduct, damage to the property, or illegal activity, the landlord must provide a 3-days’ notice. N.J. Stat. Ann. § 2A:18-61.2(a)).
      • For evictions based on non-compliance with the lease, the landlord must provide 30-days notice. N.J. Stat. Ann. § 2A:18-61.2(b)).
      • For evictions based on periodic tenancies, the amount of notice the landlord must provide depends on the length of the tenancy term. For yearly leases, the landlord must provide 3-months’ notice. For month-to-month leases, the landlord must provide 30-days notice. (N.J. Stat. Ann. § 2A:18-56).
  • Do New Jersey eviction laws allow landlords to use “self-help eviction” methods, such as locking a tenant out of the rental unit or shutting off the utilities? 
    • No. New Jersey law prohibits self-help measures and considers these actions criminal conduct that potentially subjects landlords to criminal punishment. (N.J. Stat. Ann. § 2A:39-1.

New Jersey Eviction Process: Step-by-Step

The eviction process in New Jersey includes the following steps:

  1. The landlord serves the eviction notice. The landlord must serve the applicable eviction notice on the tenant. The landlord must serve the tenant personally, leave a copy of the notice with a member of the family over 14 years old at their usual place of abode, or by certified mail. (N.J. Stat. Ann. § 2A:18-61.2)
  2. The landlord files an eviction lawsuit. The landlord begins the formal eviction process in New Jersey by filing a Complaint and Summons with the Special Civil Part Clerk’s Office. The court sets a date for the hearing.
  3. Parties attend the hearing. The parties attend the hearing. The judge determines whether there are legal grounds for eviction. If the court rules in the landlord’s favor or the tenant does not appear, the court provides a Judgment for Possession to the landlord. 
  4.  Landlord petitions for Warrant of Possession. The landlord applies for a Warrant of Possession. They provide this to the sheriff to physically remove the tenant from the rental unit. 

SIGN-UP FOR PAYRENT

Start collecting rent online in less than 5 minutes.
  • Control when and how renters pay you
  • Automatically remind tenants when rent is due
  • Accept bank transfers and credit cards
GET STARTED FOR FREE
>

PayRent is on a mission to build a rent collection app that fosters a positive and productive relationship between renters and landlords. We focus less on transactions and more on the people behind them.

Do You Find This Information Useful?

Sign-up for our newsletter and get great content like this delivered to your email.
Subscribe
SUBSCRIBE NOW
close-link

Subscribe to Our
Email Newsletter

Receive timely and relevant articles directly to your email inbox.
SUBSCRIBE
You can unsubscribe anytime.
We respect your privacy
close-link
FREE TEMPLATE DOWNLOAD

Create a Custom 
Rent Collection Policy in Minutes

Get instant access and generate your iron-clad rent collection policy.
DOWNLOAD
close-link

SIGN-UP FOR PAYRENT

Start collecting rent online in less than 5 minutes.
  • Control when and how renters pay you
  • Automatically remind tenants when rent is due
  • Accept bank transfers and credit cards
GET STARTED FOR FREE
>
close-link