A reference of Alaska Eviction Laws, and steps of the Alaska eviction process for Landlords and renters, updated 2021.
- What are the reasons that landlords can evict tenants under Alaska eviction laws?
- Nonpayment of rent (Alaska Stat. § 34.03.220(b)).
- Deliberate damage to the rental unit (Alaska Stat. § 34.03.220(a)(1)).
- Prostitution or illegal activity in the rental unit (Alaska Stat. § 34.03.220(a)(1))
- Violation of lease terms / rental agreement (Alaska Stat. § 34.03.220(a)(2)).
- Tenant remains in possession of the dwelling unit after the occupancy period without the landlord’s permission (Alaska Stat. § 34.03.290).
- What notice do Alaska eviction laws require that landlords provide tenants before starting the eviction process?
- For evictions based on non-payment of rent, the landlord must give a 7-day notice to pay rent before starting the eviction process. (Alaska Stat. § 34.03.220(b)).
- For evictions based on deliberate damage to the rental unit, the landlord must provide a 24-hour notice before starting the eviction process. (Alaska Stat. § 34.03.220(a)(1)).
- For evictions based on illegal activity in the rental unit, the provide a 24-hour notice before starting the eviction process. (Alaska Stat. § 34.03.220(a)(1)).
- For evictions based on violation of lease terms or the rental agreement other than deliberate damage or illegal activity in the rental unit, the landlord must provide a 10-day notice before starting the eviction process. (Alaska Stat. § 34.03.220(a)(2)).
- For evictions based on a holdover tenancy, landlords must provide the 30-day notice required to end the tenancy. If the tenant remains on the rental property after the termination date, the landlord can begin the eviction process without providing additional notice. (Alaska Stat. § 34.03.290).
- Do Alaska eviction laws allow landlords to use “self-help eviction” methods, such as locking a tenant out of the rental unit or shutting off the utilities?
No. Alaska law forbids landlords from using self-help eviction methods. Violating this law can result in the landlord owing the tenant damages equal to 1.5 times their actual damages and attorney’s fees but not court costs. Alaska Stat. §§ 34.03.210; 34.03.350.
Alaska Eviction Process
Landlords must follow these steps to legally evict a tenant in Alaska.
- Send an eviction notice. To initiate the Alaska eviction process, the landlord must send the tenant a notice that informs them of how they are in violation of the lease and how much time they have to “cure” the problem. The notice should also state how the tenant can cure the violation to avoid eviction. The notice must state that if the tenant does not cure the issue within the designated time that the landlord will begin the eviction process. You can find the appropriate eviction notice on the Alaska Courts website.
- File an eviction complaint. If the tenant does not cure the problem within the time provided by law and stated in the eviction notice, the landlord can file a Forcible Entry and Detainer by filing a Complaint for Eviction (CIV-730) with the district or superior court in the county where the rental property is located. The landlord will need to pay the filing fee and complete a Civil Case Cover Sheet to provide information about them and the tenant.
- Serve the tenant. Landlords must legally serve the tenant with the documents filed with the court. This can be completed through service by the sheriff’s office, a private process server, or first class certified mail. The tenant will have the opportunity to file an Answer to Claim for Damages (CIV-735) to contest the case.
- Attend the hearing. After filing the necessary paperwork, the court will schedule a court hearing where both parties are expected to appear. After weighing the testimony and evidence, the court will render a verdict. If it rules in favor of the landlord, it will issue an eviction order that states when the tenant must vacate the premises.
- Request the sheriff’s help. The landlord can ask the sheriff’s office for help in enforcing the eviction judgment.