A reference of Connecticut Eviction Laws, and steps of the Connecticut eviction process for landlords and renters, updated 2021.
- What are the reasons that landlords can evict tenants under Connecticut eviction laws?
- Nonpayment of rent (C.G.S.A. § 47a-15a).
- Serious nuisance (C.G.S.A. § 47a-15).
- Material non-compliance with the lease agreement that materially affects the health and safety of other tenants or the physical condition of the property (C.G.S.A. § 47a-15).
- Material non-compliance with the lease agreement (C.G.S.A. § 47a-15).
- Tenant remains in possession of the dwelling unit after the occupancy period without the landlord’s permission (C.G.S.A. § 47a-23)
- What notice do Connecticut eviction laws require that landlords provide tenants before starting the eviction process?
- For evictions based on non-payment of rent, the landlord must give a 9-day notice to the tenant before starting the eviction process. If the tenant has a one-week tenancy, the landlord is only required to give a 4-day notice. (C.G.S.A. § 47a-15a).
- For evictions based on material lease violations, the landlord must give a 15-day notice of non-compliance and allow the tenant to correct the issue before starting the eviction process, if applicable. (Connecticut Code § 35-9A-421(a))
- For evictions based on a holdover tenancy, landlords must provide a 30-day notice to end the tenancy. (C.G.S.A. § 47a-23)
- Do Connecticut eviction laws allow landlords to use “self-help eviction” methods, such as locking a tenant out of the rental unit or shutting off the utilities?
- No. Connecticut law forbids landlords from using self-help eviction methods. Violating this law can result in the landlord owing two times the amount of damages the tenant suffered, as well as potential misdemeanor charges. (C.G.S.A. § § 47a-23, 47a-46, 53a-214).
Connecticut Eviction Process
Landlords must follow these seven steps to legally evict a tenant in Connecticut:
- Serve the eviction notice. To initiate the Connecticut eviction process, the landlord must serve the appropriate eviction notice to the tenant after any required grace period. The eviction notice must state the reasons for the eviction and the deadline that the tenant has to correct them, if applicable.
- File the necessary court documents. After the time specified in the notice and provided by law, the landlord can begin the official judicial process of evicting the tenant. The landlord completes and files a summons and complaint with the superior court or housing court and pays the appropriate filing fee. The court will set a date for a hearing on the matter.
- Serve the court documents. The landlord must legally serve the court documents on the tenant and provide an opportunity for the tenant to respond. If the tenant wishes to contest the eviction, they must file a written answer with the court.
- Pursue a default judgment. If the tenant does not respond to the paperwork, the landlord can bring a default motion, asking the court to grant the relief requested in the complaint.
- Attend the court hearing. If the tenant files an answer to the complaint, a trial date is set between seven to tend days after the answer has been filed. Each of the parties will have the opportunity to present evidence and witnesses in their favor at the hearing.
- Request execution order. If the landlord wins, the court issues a judgment in its favor. The landlord can request an execution order to physically remove the tenant from the premises.
- Appeal, vacancy or removal. The tenant can appeal the judgment in favor of the landlord within five days. The defendant can also move out during this 5-day window. If the tenant does neither, the landlord can provide the execution order to the marshal, who can use it to physically remove the tenant from the property. The tenant has 24 hours from the marshal’s execution to leave the property. Their belongings can be placed in storage.