This is a summary of Arizona Landlord-Tenant laws that apply to residential (non-commercial) rentals. These references were compiled from the Arizona Revised Statutes, including the Arizona Residential Landlord and Tenant Act, and various online sources to serve as a reference and for people wanting to learn about Arizona landlord-tenant laws, Arizona eviction laws, and Arizona renters’ rights. 

However, this guide is not comprehensive and PayRent does not warrant the accuracy of this information. Statutes can change any time the state legislature passes a new law. Additionally, counties and cities may have different regulations. Given its limitations, this guide is not an adequate substitute for legal advice from a knowledgeable lawyer.  If you are dealing with a landlord-tenant issue, you seek guidance from a qualified attorney. If you need help finding an attorney, we’ve included a list of attorney referral services in this guide.

FREE TEMPLATE DOWNLOAD

Create a Custom 
Rent Collection Policy in Minutes

Get instant access and generate your iron-clad rent collection policy.
DOWNLOAD

Rules and Regulations Governing Arizona Landlord Tenant Laws

Arizona Lease Terms Provisions

Security Deposits

  • What is the maximum allowable security deposit?
    The required security deposit cannot exceed one and half month’s rent for a security deposit and/ or prepaid rent. However, a tenant can choose to pay a larger amount of rent in advance. (Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1321(A))
  • Are security deposits required to earn interest?

No. There is no Arizona law requiring security deposits to earn interest.

  • Do landlords need to store security deposits in a separate bank account? 

No. There is no Arizona law requiring security deposits to be stored in a separate bank account. 

  • Are non-refundable fees, such as pet fees, prohibited?

No. Non-refundable fees are permitted, so long as the fee and its purpose are stated in writing by the landlord. (Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1321(B))

  • How long do landlords have to return security deposits?

14 days, excluding weekends and legal holidays. (Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1321(D))

  • Can landlords withhold security deposits?

Yes. Landlords can use the deposit to cover accrued rent and to repair any damages to the property caused by tenants’ failures to comply with their duties (see Tenant’s Duties).  (Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1321(D))

  • Are landlords required to itemize damages and fees deducted from security deposits?

Yes. An itemized list, detailing the amount withheld and the reasons for withholding, must be sent via first class to the tenant within 14 days to the tenant’s last known place of residence unless other arrangements are made in writing by the tenant. (Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1321(D))

  • Do landlords have to issue receipts upon receiving security deposits?

No. There is no Arizona law requiring landlords to issue receipts for security deposits.

  • Are there any specific requirements for record-keeping for deposit withholdings?

No. There is no Arizona law specifying record-keeping requirements.

  • What happens when a landlord does not return a security deposit within 14 days?

The tenant may recover the property and money due to the tenant together with damages in an amount equal to twice the amount wrongfully withheld. (Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1321(E))

Rent

  • Is there a cap on how much landlords can charge for rent? (rent control)

No. There are no rent control laws in Arizona.

  • When is rent due?

Rent is due at the time and place agreed upon by the landlord and tenant. Unless they agree to a different arrangement, rent is due at the beginning of the month and will be paid in equal monthly installments. For week-to-week tenancies, rent is due every week. (Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1314(C))

  • Does rent need to be paid using a certain method of payment?

No. There is no Arizona law requiring a certain payment method for rent. 

Fees

  • Can landlords charge late fees when rent is late?

Yes. There is no Arizona law forbidding late fees or limiting the amount that landlords can charge for residential dwellings. For manufactured homes, late fees must not exceed five dollars per day. (Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1414(C))

  • Do landlords have to allow for a grace period for paying rent before charging late fees?

There is no Arizona law requiring a grace period for renters of residential dwellings before assessing late fees. However, there is a 5-day grace period for manufactured homes.  (Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1414(A4))

  • Can landlords charge application fees?

Yes. There is no Arizona law forbidding application fees or limiting the amount that landlords can charge.

  • Can landlords charge returned check fees?

Yes. There is no Arizona law forbidding returned check fees or limiting the amount that landlords can charge.

Arizona Landlord-Tenant Relations

Notices

  • Are landlords required to provide tenants with notice of rent increases between lease terms?

No. There is no Arizona law requiring landlords to provide tenants with notice of rent increases between lease terms. However, landlords cannot raise your rent in the middle of your lease.

  • Are landlords required to provide tenants with notice of pesticide use on the property?

No. There is no Arizona law requiring landlords to provide tenants with notice of pesticide use on the rental property.

  • What notice is required to terminate a fixed-end lease?

No notice is required — the lease ends on the date stated in the lease.

  • What notice is required to terminate a week-to-week periodic lease?

Either the landlord or the tenant can terminate the lease with 10 days written notice. Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1375(A))

  • What notice is required to terminate a month-to-month periodic lease?

Either the landlord or the tenant can terminate the lease with 30 days written notice. (Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1375(B))

  • Is notice of the date and time of the move out inspection required?

Upon move-in, the landlord must provide the tenant written notification that the tenant may be present at the move-out inspection. On request by the tenant, the landlord shall notify the tenant when the landlord’s move-out inspection will occur. (Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1321(C))

Entry Provisions

  • When can landlords enter the rental premises with notice?
    • To inspect the premises. 
    • To make necessary or agreed to repairs, decorations, alterations, or improvements.
    • To supply necessary or agreed services. 
    • To show the unit to prospective or actual purchasers, mortgagees, tenants, workmen, or contractors. (Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1343(A))
  • What notice must a landlord give a tenant before entering the rental unit?

The landlord must provide written notice at least 2 days in advance, and enter only at reasonable times. (Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1343(D))

  • When can landlords enter the rental premises without providing notice to their tenants?
    • In case of an emergency.
    • Under court order.
    • When the landlord has reasonable cause to believe the tenant has abandoned or surrendered the premises.
    • To make repairs to conditions materially affecting health and safety and caused by the tenants’ failure to comply with their duties (see Tenant’s Duties). (Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1343(C); (Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1343(E)))

Landlord’s Duties (Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1324)

  • Landlords must comply with applicable building and housing codes materially affecting health and safety.
  • Landlords must make all repairs and do whatever is necessary to put and keep the premises in a habitable condition.
  • Landlords must keep all common areas of the premises in a clean and safe condition.
  • Landlords must maintain in good and safe working order all electrical, plumbing, sanitary, heating, ventilating, air-conditioning, and other facilities and appliances, including elevators, supplied or required to be supplied by the landlord.
  • Landlords must provide and maintain appropriate receptacles for the removal of garbage and arrange for their removal.
  • Landlords must supply running water and reasonable amounts of hot water at all times and reasonable heat and reasonable air-conditioning where units are installed and offered.

Tenant’s Duties (Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1341)

  • Tenants must comply with all obligations imposed upon tenants by building and housing codes materially affecting health and safety.
  • Tenants must keep that part of the premises that the tenant occupies and uses as clean and safe as the condition of the premises permits.
  • Tenants must dispose of all ashes, garbage, rubbish, and other waste cleanly and safely.
  • Tenants must keep all plumbing fixtures as clean as their condition permits.
  • Tenants must use all electrical, plumbing, sanitary, heating, ventilating, air-conditioning, and other facilities and appliances including elevators in the premises in a reasonable manner;
  • Tenants must not deliberately or negligently destroy, deface, damage, impair, or remove any part of the premises; or knowingly, recklessly, or negligently permit any person to do so.
  • Tenants and their guests must conduct themselves in a manner that will not disturb the neighbors’ peaceful enjoyment of the premises.
  • Tenants must promptly notify the landlord in writing of any situation or occurrence that requires the landlord to provide maintenance or make repairs or otherwise requires the landlord to take action.

Required Landlord Disclosures

  • Landlords are required to disclose in writing the names and business addresses of: 
    • the person authorized to manage the premises.
    • the owner of the premises or a person authorized to act for and on behalf of the owner for service of process and receiving notices. (Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1322(A))
  • Upon move-in, the landlord shall provide the tenant with a copy of a signed lease, a move-in form for specifying any existing damages to the dwelling unit, and written notification to the tenant that the tenant may be present at the move-out inspection. (Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1321(C))
  • Landlords must provide bedbug educational materials to new tenants. If the landlord knows that a rental unit has a bedbug infestation, the landlord shall not enter into any lease agreement with a tenant. (Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1319)
  • Landlords must disclose all known lead paint hazards. Landlords must also provide tenants, as an attachment to a written lease, with an information pamphlet on lead-based paint hazards.

Arizona Renters’ Rights

  • What rights do tenants have if their landlords breach their duties? (See Landlord’s Duties)
    • If a landlord materially fails to comply with the rental agreement, including a material falsification of the written information provided to the tenant, the renter may deliver a written notice to the landlord identifying the issue(s). If the landlord does not remedy the breach within 10 days of receiving notice the lease will terminate. (Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1361(A))
  • If a landlord fails to comply with the landlord’s duties in a way that materially affects health and safety, the renter may deliver a written notice to the landlord identifying the issue(s). If the landlord does not remedy the breach within 5 days of receiving notice the lease will terminate. (Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1361(A))
  • Are tenants allowed to withhold rent for needed repairs or other breaches of their landlord’s duties?

Yes. If a landlord fails to comply with the landlord’s duties, Arizona law allows the tenant to repair and deduct the amount from the next rental payment when proper notice is provided, subject to a 10 day waiting period for non-emergencies. Withheld rent must not be more than the greater of $300 or one-half of the monthly rent. If a landlord fails to provide essential services, tenants may obtain a reasonable amount of the essential service(s), and deduct their actual reasonable cost from the rent. (Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1363); (Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1364)

  • Are tenants permitted to sublease their rental units?

There is no Arizona law regarding subletting, so tenants may sublease so long as their lease allows for subleasing or does not mention it.

  • What are the protections for tenants against retaliation from their landlords for exercising their Arizona renter’s rights?

Arizona law prohibits landlords from increasing rent, decreasing services, or bringing or threatening to bring an action for possession if the tenant has complained to a governmental agency, complained to the landlord about a breach of landlord’s duties, or if the tenant becomes a member of a tenant’s union or similar organization. (Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1381)

Arizona Eviction Laws

  • What notice must landlords provide tenants before starting the eviction process in Arizona?
    • For evictions based on non-payment of rent or a material health and safety violation, the landlord must give a 5-day notice to remedy the breach before starting the eviction process. (Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1368(A))
    • For evictions based on non-compliance with the rental agreement, including material falsification of the information provided on the rental application other than information about the tenant’s eviction history and current/ previous criminal activity,  the landlord must give a 10-day notice to remedy the breach before starting the eviction process. (Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1368(A))
  • For evictions based on misrepresentations in the application about the tenant’s eviction history and current/ previous criminal activity, the landlord must give a 10-day notice of termination of the lease before starting the eviction process. Landlords do not have to permit the tenant to cure these types of breaches. (Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1368(A))
  • For evictions based on illegal activity, landlords must deliver a notice for immediate termination of the lease before starting the eviction process. Landlords do not have to permit the tenant to cure these types of breaches. (Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1368(A))
  • For evictions based on a holdover tenancy, landlords must provide a 10-day notice to terminate a week-to-week tenancy and a 30-day notice to terminate a month-to-month tenancy. If the tenant remains on the rental property after the termination date, the landlord can begin the eviction process without providing additional notice. (Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1375)
  • Are landlords permitted to recover damages from an evicted tenant?

Yes. In Arizona, a landlord may recover actual damages when the lease is terminated based on a tenant’s breach of the rental agreement. (Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1373)

  • Are landlords permitted to use “self-help eviction” methods, such as locking a tenant out of the rental unit or shutting off the utilities? 

No. If a landlord evicts a tenant using self-help methods, the tenant can choose to recover possession or terminate the lease. Tenants can recover the greater of two months’ rent or twice the actual damages sustained. (Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1367)

COVID-19 Changes to Arizona Landlord-Tenant Laws

  • The CDC has passed a national eviction ban through December 31, 2020, that prohibits landlords from evicting tenants  who meet the following criteria for nonpayment:
    • Have used their best efforts to obtain all available government assistance for rent.
    • Expect to earn no more than $99,000 in annual income for Calendar Year 2020 (or no more than $198,000 if filing a joint tax return).
    • Are unable to pay their full rent or make a full housing payment due to substantial loss of income or employment, or extraordinary medical bills.
    • If evicted, will have no other housing options.
  • The federal Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act requires landlords to provide a 30-day notice to tenants before eviction. However, the CARES Act only applies to properties that are supported by the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD), the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA), or the United States Treasury (Low Income Housing Tax Credit), and properties with federally-backed mortgages, such as FHA, Fannie Mae, and Freddie Mac.

Related Links

Government 

Legal Aid

Attorney Referral Services

Realtor and Landlord-Tenant Associations

SIGN-UP FOR PAYRENT

Start collecting rent online in less than 5 minutes.
  • Control when and how renters pay you
  • Automatically remind tenants when rent is due
  • Accept bank transfers and credit cards
GET STARTED FOR FREE
>

PayRent is on a mission to build a rent collection app that fosters a positive and productive relationship between renters and landlords. We focus less on transactions and more on the people behind them.

Do You Find This Information Useful?

Sign-up for our newsletter and get great content like this delivered to your email.
Subscribe
SUBSCRIBE NOW
close-link

Subscribe to Our
Email Newsletter

Receive timely and relevant articles directly to your email inbox.
SUBSCRIBE
You can unsubscribe anytime.
We respect your privacy
close-link
FREE TEMPLATE DOWNLOAD

Create a Custom 
Rent Collection Policy in Minutes

Get instant access and generate your iron-clad rent collection policy.
DOWNLOAD
close-link

SIGN-UP FOR PAYRENT

Start collecting rent online in less than 5 minutes.
  • Control when and how renters pay you
  • Automatically remind tenants when rent is due
  • Accept bank transfers and credit cards
GET STARTED FOR FREE
>
close-link