This is a summary of Wyoming Landlord-Tenant laws that apply to residential (non-commercial) rentals. These references were compiled from the Code of Wyoming and various online sources to serve as a reference and for people wanting to learn about Wyoming landlord-tenant laws, Wyoming eviction laws, and Wyoming renters’ rights.
However, this guide is not comprehensive and PayRent does not warrant the accuracy of this information. Statutes can change any time the state legislature passes a new law. Additionally, counties and cities may have different regulations. Given its limitations, this guide is not an adequate substitute for legal advice from a knowledgeable lawyer. If you are dealing with a landlord-tenant issue, you seek guidance from a qualified attorney. If you need help finding an attorney, we’ve included a list of attorney referral services in this guide.
[cp_modal display=”inline” id=”cp_id_eb6c2″][/cp_modal]
Rules and Regulations Governing Wyoming Landlord-Tenant Laws
- Wyo. Stat. Title 1, Chapter 21, Article 10 — Forcible Entry and Detainer
- Wyo. Stat. Title 1, Chapter 21, Article 12 — Residential Rental Property
- Wyo. Stat. Title 1, Chapter 21, Article 13 — Wyoming Safe Homes Act
Wyoming Lease Terms Provisions
- What is the maximum allowable security deposit?
There is no Wyoming law limiting security deposits.
- Are security deposits required to earn interest?
No. There is no Wyoming law requiring security deposits to earn interest.
- Do landlords need to store security deposits in a separate bank account?
No. There is no Wyoming law requiring security deposits to be stored in a separate bank account.
- Are non-refundable fees, such as pet fees, prohibited?
No. There is no Wyoming law forbidding non-refundable fees, but all non-refundable fees shall be included in the rental agreement, and written notice of the fee must be provided to the tenant at the time of the fee’s payment. (Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1207)
- How long do landlords have to return security deposits?
30 days. If the tenant fails to immediately provide a forwarding address, the landlord has another 15 days after the landlord receives the address. (Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1208(a))
- Can landlords withhold security deposits?
Yes. Landlords can use the deposit to cover accrued rent and to repair any damages to the property beyond ordinary wear and tear, for cleaning costs, or any other costs called for in the lease. (Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1208(a))
- Are landlords required to itemize damages and fees deducted from security deposits?
Yes. An itemized list, detailing the amount withheld and the reasons for withholding, must be sent along with any remaining funds from the deposit. (Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1208(a))
- Do landlords have to issue receipts upon receiving security deposits?
No. There is no Wyoming law requiring landlords to issue receipts for security deposits.
- Are there any specific requirements for record-keeping for deposit withholdings?
No. There is no Wyoming law specifying record-keeping requirements.
- What happens when a landlord does not return a security deposit within the required timeframe?
A landlord may owe the full deposit plus court costs. (Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1208(c))
- Is there a cap on how much landlords can charge for rent? (rent control)
No. There are no rent control laws in Wyoming.
- When is rent due?
There is no statute in Wyoming covering when rent is due.
- Does rent need to be paid using a certain method of payment?
No. There is no Wyoming law requiring a certain payment method for rent.
- Can landlords charge late fees when rent is late?
Yes. There is no Wyoming law forbidding late fees or limiting the amount that landlords can charge.
- Do landlords have to allow for a grace period for paying rent before charging late fees?
No. There is no Wyoming law requiring a grace period before assessing late fees.
- Can landlords charge application fees?
Yes. There is no Wyoming law forbidding application fees or limiting the amount that landlords can charge.
- Can landlords charge returned check fees?
Yes. Landlords can charge a returned check fee up to $30. (Wyo. Stat. § 1-1-115)
Wyoming Landlord-Tenant Relations
- Are landlords required to provide tenants with notice of rent increases between lease terms?
No. There is no Wyoming law requiring landlords to provide tenants with notice of rent increases between lease terms.
- Are landlords required to provide tenants with notice of pesticide use on the property?
No. There is no Wyoming law requiring landlords to provide tenants with notice of pesticide use on the rental property.
- What notice is required to terminate a fixed-end lease?
There is no Wyoming law covering how much notice is required.
- What notice is required to terminate a week-to-week periodic tenancy?
There is no Wyoming law covering how much notice is required.
- What notice is required to terminate a month-to-month periodic tenancy?
There is no Wyoming law covering how much notice is required.
- Is notice of the date and time of the move out inspection required?
There is no statute in Wyoming law covering this issue.
- When can landlords enter the rental premises with notice?
- To inspect the premises.
- To make necessary or agreed to repairs, decorations, alterations, or improvements.
- To show the unit to prospective or actual purchasers, mortgagees, tenants, workmen, or contractors. (Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1205(a)(iii))
- What notice must a landlord give a tenant before entering the rental unit?
There is no Wyoming law requiring landlords to give tenants notice of entry.
- When can landlords enter the rental premises without providing notice to their tenants?
- There is no Wyoming law outlining when a landlord can enter a unit, other than its denial by the tenant cannot be unreasonable. (Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1205(a)(iii))
- Landlords must make all repairs and do whatever is necessary to put and keep the premises in a habitable condition. (Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1203(a)(i))
- Landlords must keep all common areas of the premises in a clean and safe condition. (Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1203(a)(ii))
- Landlords must maintain in good and safe working order all electrical, plumbing, heating, hot and cold water, and other facilities and appliances supplied or required to be supplied by the landlord. (Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1203(a)(iii-iv))
- Tenants must keep that part of the premises that the tenant occupies and uses in a safe and sanitary condition fit for human habitation. (Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1202(a))
- Tenants must use all electrical, plumbing, sanitary, heating, ventilating, air-conditioning, and other facilities and appliances in the premises in a reasonable manner. (Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1202(b))
- Tenants must not deliberately or negligently destroy, deface, damage, impair, or remove any part of the premises; or knowingly permit any person to do so. (Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1205(a)(i))
- Tenants and their guests must conduct themselves in a manner that will not disturb the neighbors’ peaceful enjoyment of the premises. (Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1205(a)(ii))
- Tenants shall not unreasonably deny the landlord access to the unit. (Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1205(a)(iii))
- Tenants must keep that part of the premises that the tenant occupies and uses as clean and safe as the condition of the premises permits. (Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1204(a)(i))
- Tenants must dispose of all ashes, garbage, rubbish, and other waste cleanly and safely. (Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1204(a)(ii))
- Tenants must keep all plumbing fixtures as clean as their condition permits. (Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1204(a)(iii))
- Tenants must use all electrical, plumbing, sanitary, heating, ventilating, air-conditioning, and other facilities and appliances in the premises in a reasonable manner. (Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1204(a)(iv))
- Tenants may not allow the number of individuals occupying the premises to exceed the number allowed by applicable law, by a covenant limiting the landlord’s use of the premises, or the rental agreement. (Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1204(a)(v))
- Tenants must be current on all payments. (Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1204(a)(vi))
- Tenants must comply with all lawful requirements of the lease. (Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1204(a)(vii))
- Tenants must remove all property and garbage at the end of the tenancy. (Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1204(a)(viii))
Required Landlord Disclosures
- Landlords must disclose all known lead paint hazards. Landlords must also provide tenants, as an attachment to a written lease, with an information pamphlet on lead-based paint hazards.
Wyoming Renters’ Rights
- What are Wyoming renters’ rights if landlords breach their duties? (See Landlord’s Duties)
- A tenant can advise the landlord in writing of the specific conditions that do not comply with reasonable standards for health and safety, and what actions the renter requests the landlord take in response. The owner must then either fix the issue or respond in writing that they dispute the claim. (Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1203(b))
- If the landlord does not respond to this notification in a reasonable time, the renter may serve a “notice to repair or correct condition” on the landlord. This notice shall state that without corrective action, the tenant will institute an action in court within 3 days. (Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1206(b))
- A court, after a valid service of a “notice to repair or correct condition,” which finds for the tenant can award the tenant actual damages, costs, and affirmative relief. Relief may include the termination of the rental agreement. (Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1206(c))
- Are tenants allowed to withhold rent for needed repairs or other breaches of their landlords’ duties?
No. Wyoming law prohibits tenants from withholding rent to enforce their legal rights. (Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1203(b))
- What are the protections for tenants against retaliation from their landlords for exercising their Wyoming renter’s rights?
There is no Wyoming statute addressing landlord retaliation against tenants.
Wyoming Eviction Laws
- What are the reasons that landlords can evict tenants under Wyoming eviction laws?
- What notice do Wyoming eviction laws require that landlords provide tenants before starting the eviction process?
- For all evictions in Wyoming, the landlord must serve 3 days’ notice before commencing an eviction action. (Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1003)
- For an eviction for nonpayment of rent, the rent must be at least 3 days overdue before the landlord posts the 3-day notice. (Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1002(a))
- Do Wyoming eviction laws allow landlords to use “self-help eviction” methods, such as locking a tenant out of the rental unit or shutting off the utilities?
There is no statute in Wyoming prohibiting locking out a tenant or shutting off their utilities.
- Are landlords permitted to recover damages from an evicted tenant?
Yes. For any damage beyond the security deposit, the renter is liable for actual damage plus 10% interest per annum. (Wyo. Stat. § 1-21-1211(b))
COVID-19 Changes to Wyoming Landlord-Tenant Laws
- The CDC has passed a national eviction ban through December 31, 2020, that prohibits landlords from evicting tenants who meet the following criteria for nonpayment:
- Have used their best efforts to obtain all available government assistance for rent.
- Expect to earn no more than $99,000 in annual income for Calendar Year 2020 (or no more than $198,000 if filing a joint tax return).
- Are unable to pay their full rent or make a full housing payment due to substantial loss of income or employment, or extraordinary medical bills.
- If evicted, will have no other housing options.
- The federal Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act requires landlords to provide a 30-day notice to tenants before eviction. However, the CARES Act only applies to properties that are supported by the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD), the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA), or the United States Treasury (Low Income Housing Tax Credit), and properties with federally-backed mortgages, such as FHA, Fannie Mae, and Freddie Mac.
- Wyoming Judicial Branch
- Wyoming Supreme Court
- Wyoming Attorney General
- U.S. Department of Housing & Urban Development–Wyoming
- Wyoming Community Development Authority
- Wyoming Real Estate Commission
- Wyoming Division of Banking
Attorney Referral Services
Realtor and Landlord-Tenant Associations